Activism, Art & Culture, Asian International Affairs, Coronavirus, Current Events, Entrepreneurship, New York, Podcast, Self-Empowerment, Taiwan, Taiwan Community, Taiwan Independence, Taiwan Organizations, Taiwan vs China

Ming Chiang: Hello Taiwan Brings Greater Recognition to Taiwan’s Name and Identity Ep 154

By Felicia Lin

A note from Talking Taiwan host Felicia Lin:

My guest on this episode of Talking Taiwan is Ming Chiang, the president of Hello Taiwan. We talked about how Hello Taiwan got started, its charitable contributions and events, its connection to the annual Passport to Taiwan event in New York, what its mission is, how it creates greater recognition of Taiwan, and the unexpected PR generated for Hello Taiwan when Bi-khim Hsiao, Taiwan’s Representative to the United States was seen wearing a Hello Taiwan mask at the airport.

Here’s a little preview of what we talked about in this podcast episode:

  • Ming’s background and connection to Taiwan
  • What Ming was doing before he became the president of Hello Taiwan
  • How Ming was previously the president of the Taiwan New York Taiwan Chamber of Commerce
  • Ming’s business ventures
  • The Taiwanese American organizations that Ming has worked with
  • When Hello Taiwan was established and its mission
  • Hello Taiwan concerts and its connection to Passport to Taiwan
  • The Hello Taiwan logo
  • Events organized by Hello Taiwan
  • Hello Taiwan’s partnership with the Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce
  • Hello Taiwan Day with the LA Dodgers
  • How Hello Taiwan donated new dragon boats to the Rhode Island Taiwan Heritage Day for the dragon boat races
  • Sponsorship of Taiwanese Waves
  • Taiwan Mets Day
  • Hello Taiwan events and ambassadors around the world
  • How someone can become a Hello Taiwan ambassador
  • The celebrities and influential people that Ming has met
  • Hello Taiwan merchandise
  • The unexpected PR generated for Hello Taiwan when Bi-khim Hsiao, Taiwan’s Representative to the United States was seen wearing a Hello Taiwan mask at the airport
  • The confusion caused by the Republic of China (ROC) and labels such as the Chinese Professional Baseball League, Chinese Taipei in the Olympics, Taipei Economic Cultural Representative Office

 

Related Links:

 

Hello Taiwan: https://www.hellotaiwan.org/

 

Hello Taiwan merchandise: https://www.hellotaiwan.org/shop

 

Hello Taiwan on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HelloTaiwanWorld

 

Hello Taiwan on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hellotaiwanworld/

 

Passport to Taiwan: https://p2tw.org/

 

Taiwan New York Taiwan Chamber of Commerce: https://www.facebook.com/www.tmany.ocbn.org.tw/

 

Taiwanese American Association (TAA) of New York: https://taiwaneseamericanhistory.org/blog/taany/

 

Red Cross New York: https://www.redcross.org/local/new-york/greater-new-york.html

 

Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce: https://www.lachamber.com/

 

Taiwanese Waves: http://www.taiwanesewaves.com/

 

Taiwan Mets Day: https://www.hellotaaiwan.org/event-info/mets-taiwan-heritage-day

 

https://www.mlb.com/mets/tickets/group-tickets/taiwan

 

Taiwan representative to U.S. throws first pitch for Mets on Taiwan Day (an article from Focus Taiwan): https://focustaiwan.tw/politics/202108300006https://focustaiwan.tw/politics/202108300006

 

Taiwan Angers China With First Europe Office Using Its Name (an article from Bloomberg): https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-07-20/u-s-hails-taiwan-move-to-open-first-europe-office-with-its-name?fbclid=IwAR2C1R9vUiq_47oA1Aeof9lyFQEohR_2bRTqKPFgBSpC53Z0kKcseJBrIhM

 

Taiwan’s New Envoy to Washington Has Deep Ties to America (an article from VOA): https://www.voanews.com/a/east-asia-pacific_taiwans-new-envoy-washington-has-deep-ties-america/6193696.html

 

Bi-khim Hsiao, Taiwan’s Representative to the United States: https://www.roc-taiwan.org/us_en/post/11.html

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hsiao_Bi-khim

 

Related Talking Taiwan Episodes:

 

Borcheng Hsu on the 13th Passport to Taiwan Festival: https://talkingtaiwan.com/tt045-borcheng-hsu/

 

Andrew Watson of the band Feiwu Talks about Hello Taiwan: https://talkingtaiwan.com/andrew-watson-band-feiwu-talks-hello-taiwan/

 

2017 Hello Taiwan Tour – Ysanne Spevack: https://talkingtaiwan.com/2017-hello-taiwan-tour-ysanne-spevack-talking-taiwan-ep-54/

 

Singer, Songwriter and Musician – Treya Lam: https://talkingtaiwan.com/treya-lam-talking-taiwan-ep-55

 

Taiwanese Waves – Mia Min YenTaiwanese Waves – Mia Min Yen: https://talkingtaiwan.com/taiwanese-waves-mia-min-yen-talking-taiwan-ep-56/

 

Quarantine in Taiwan: An Interview with Diana Lee: https://talkingtaiwan.com/quarantine-in-taiwan-an-interview-with-diana-lee/

About the Host

Felicia Lin is the Host and Producer of Talking Taiwan, a podcast which seeks to introduce you to interesting stories connected to Taiwan and the diverse individuals who make up Taiwan’s global community.

Follow Talking Taiwan on your Favorite Social Media Platform!

Book Felicia Lin for an Exclusive Interview

Host of Talking Taiwan and Su Beng Biographer Felicia Lin is now available for interviews.
Her empathetic easy-going  yet deeply-informed style of conversation and mastery of the topics has elevated Talking Taiwan to the Top 5% of all podcasts in the World.
Book Felicia either as an interviewer or an interviewee.  

Tags


You may also like:

Understanding the History of Taiwan through Dr. Jerome Keating Ep 97

Understanding the History of Taiwan through Dr. Jerome Keating Ep 97

Auntie Sewing Squad Combats Covid-19 One Mask at a Time Ep 75

Auntie Sewing Squad Combats Covid-19 One Mask at a Time Ep 75
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Get in touch

Name*
Email*
Message
0 of 350
>